Guide to Solar Panel Inverter: Split-Phase Inverter vs. Single Phase Inverter vs. 3-Phase Inverter

There are 3 main types of power inverters for solar panels, three-phase inverters, split-phase inverters and single phase inverters. You may wonder what is the differences among these three inverter types. If you are interesting, keep reading.

An Inverter is a gadget that converts direct current(DC) to alternative current(AC) to support most home appliances.

What is Single Phase Inverters?

The Single phase inverter is the most common type of inverter used in residential and small commercial applications. Single phase is commonly called “residential voltage”for many reasons; one of which, is that most home use it (it is the power present in wall plugs). This type of power relies on two wire conductors to distribute power, which create a single sine wave (low voltage). The voltage oscillate between positive and negative 120 or 240 times per second.

What is 3-Phase Inverters?

The 3-Phase inverter is commonly used in commercial PV or professional sites. Three phase power relies on three coils mounted on the rotor at 120 degree intervals, which produce three sine wave voltages (high voltage). It’s used universally for power distribution.

What is Split-phase inverters?

The split phase inverter is commonly for in residential and commercial settings. The split phase power splits the output into 2 separate phases or circuits. This allows the inverter to generate two separate 120-Volt AC circuits.

For more information about solar power inverters, please contact us. We are the experienced provider of solar energy storage solutions.

Relevant articles:

Why You Need a Three Phase Solar Inverter, read

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top